THE CHANCE

Last week I went on the vacation of a lifetime – a chance to redeem my former self. My family and I spent the first 2 days of the week at my sister’s. I was there to visit my sister on my way back to my hometown as she is now on her final month of her pregnancy, but got the chance to do a lot of sightseeing while I was there. The 4 hour drive from Kuala Lumpur was extremely long, but I’d say it was definitely worth every minute. We went to Pantai Batu Hitam to bring my niece for a walk. It was absolutely amazing and calming.

cof

The two days I was there were amazing and the feeling was beautiful. The sight of the nature are a lot different than in Kuala Lumpur. The buildings for the most part are all very old, made of stone, and intricately designed. The towns were small with the buildings close together. You can see children running around playing – there was no rush, nothing to worry about, the beauty of green countryside. Towns are not as spread out as Kuala Lumpur and streets are much more narrow. The peaceful feeling, the sound of birds and the wind. No more traffic jam.

After 2 days in Kuantan, I headed to my hometown – the house of my parent. The food there was excellent and was always more than enough – even it is only a simple dishes. A traditional one. I got to eat a lot – I enjoyed my mom’s Nasi Lemak Ikan Keli, the steamed “Jantung Pisang” – its what the Malays called in referring to the flower part of bananas. There was nothing better than being at home – the food was free flowing. My mom will always prepared something for us. I also spent my time helping my father managing his small palm oil tree estate. Helping him to spread the seed, plow the land and water the plant. I feel good to be able to be a part of him. He teaches me a lot.

dav

My next day trip was to hike the Keluang Hills with two of my younger brothers. It was located at Besut, Terengganu. Besut was a cool town with lots of beautiful and amazing panorama and these too were very historic. Just a few kilometers away was the Hill of Keluang which has a beach on the side of it. The beach was stunning and the views were breathtaking. For miles you could see small villages surrounded by trees. Afterwards we had an amazing simple meal at a nearby stall enjoying the ever popular Keropok Lekor.

bdr

sdr

bty

bdr

We spent our last full day of the week at Kuala Terengganu the city of Terengganu. Kuala Terengganu is very different from what the last time I was there. They already got a mall with cinema there – so I went to watch Guardian of Galaxy Vol 2 with my brothers there. Awesome movie – go see it if you have not seen it yet.

bmd

I also managed to spent time with my other nieces – bringing them for horse riding at local beach although they cried as we about to ride the horse.

dav

After a tearful goodbye in Terengganu I left for Sepang. My time there while shorter was also amazing. I drive a my car to Sepang and spent our trip singing song as my car’s radio broke. Then we got to drive through the mountains over the Pantai Timur Highway pass. The weather was not that great – it raining, but it was still wonderful.

Even though the time was short while I was there, I had the best time I could have possibly had and I hope one day very soon I can go back to the wonderful sights and enjoyed it with those I care the most. I am waiting for the chance.

I will prepare and some day my chance will come. – Abraham Lincoln

Leave a Reply

